Published On: December 16, 20220.9 min read158 words

On November 16th, the National Network for Youth (NN4Y) and National Safe Place Network (NSPN) presented outgoing Congressman John Yarmuth (D-KY). On November 30th, NN4Y presented Senator Leahy (D-VT) with a lifetime achievement award. These lifetime achievement awards were presented because of their leadership and commitment to improving policies and changing systems to benefit and support marginalized youth in America.

Senator Leahy and Congressman Yarmuth have consistently led the bipartisan reauthorization of the Runaway and Homeless Youth Act and reintroduction of the Runaway and Homeless Youth Trafficking and Prevention Act. This legislation will allocate important federal funding for programs that assist young people who have run away, are experiencing homelessness, or are survivors of trafficking.

From left to right: Rebecca Dourmashkin, Senator Leahy judiciary staff, Senator Leahy (D-VT), and Darla Bardine, Executive Director, NN4Y

From left to right: Laurie Jackson, CEO, National Safe Place Network, Congressman Yarmuth (D-KY), and Darla Bardine, Executive Director, NN4Y